Archive for June, 2010

“Lane splitting” motorcycle laws confusing. We can help.

Lane splitting. The phrase refers to a common motorcycle riding practice. It’s when motorcyclists ride in between two lanes of traffic. But is it legal? And what if there’s an accident? Whose liable?

Depends who you ask. According to some experts, this practice known as “lane splitting” is against the law in every state across the country except California. Connecticut’s laws also seem to clearly state that lane splitting is illegal. But accidents are complicated. Many factors come into play in any accident. Nothing is ever rarely clear-cut.

And don’t imagine that insurance companies are on your side. Often, insurance companies will blame motorcyclists for causing the accident, even when the accident was the other driver’s fault. The other driver may even claim you were recklessly weaving in and out of traffic on your motorcycle when the accident took place.

Motorcycle accidents happen fast. Suddenly, your life can change forever in an instant because of serious, irreversible injuries. This may be your only chance to be legally compensated for your motorcycle accident injuries.

Don’t let insurance companies push you around. Don’t leave your future to chance. Take action. You need a skilled legal team on your side that understands the law. You need the Law Offices of Mark E. Salomone and Morelli. When you choose us, you get experienced lawyers who know how to navigate through the complex legal hurdles standing in your way for justice.

More motorcyclists than ever are on the road. Be prepared. Ride safe. And remember who you can trust if you’re injured in a motorcycle accident. Contact Salomone & Morelli. We’re on your side.


On June 3, 2010, Connecticut Gov. Jodi Rell signed into law a bill that closes a loophole in the state’s regulations regarding cell phone usage while driving. The new law in no uncertain terms bans texting on a cell phone or other hand-held wireless devices while driving. However, “hands free” voice activated texting will still be allowed, along with hands-free cell phone usage in general.

When the new law goes into effect on Oct. 1, it will clear up much confusion about whether or not texting is allowed while driving in Connecticut. The confusion came about because Connecticut is one of eight states nationwide that has already banned the use of hand-held cell phones while driving. Drivers must use a hands-free device while talking on a cell phone. But that law doesn’t specifically state that Connecticut drivers are prohibited from texting while driving.

The new law also eliminates the one-time exemption that violators had been able to claim by submitting proof of purchase of a hands-free cell phone. Now, first time violators face a fine of $100. A second offense of texting while driving will cost you $150. All subsequent violations will each result in a $200 fine.

Keeping up with the latest laws can be mind boggling. Knowing what’s legal or not can be confusing. We can help. Contact the Law Offices of Mark E. Salomone & Morelli. If you have been involved in a car accident involving a texting driver, we know how to navigate through the complex legal hurdles standing in your way for justice.

Don’t let someone else’s reckless behavior ruin your life. Take action. Contact Mark E. Salomone & Morelli. We’re on your side.

Tenant injuries create chaos in Connecticut. Be prepared.

What happens when a tenant gets injured at their rented property? Who’s responsible? Who’s liable? The landlord?  Who will pay your medical bills? What about lost wages? What are your rights?

And what if you sustain an injury at work in a rented office? What if you’re a guest at your friend’s rented apartment and you get injured? What should you do?

Common household injuries can cover a wide range, including head injuries and broken bones. In some cases, certain tenant injuries can be extremely severe, sometimes even resulting in someone’s accidental death.

Each state has unique liability laws. In Connecticut, the landlord is required to keep common areas safe. Landlords can often be held liable if authorities determine the landlord was negligent in maintaining the property and if the landlord had actual or constructive notice of the defect, but did not repair or correct it . By law, landlords are required to safely maintain their property for tenants.

Your lease could also play a major role in what happens. Some leases include liability exemption clauses. Often, an exemption clause only applies to the tenant. That means a landlord can be held liable for injuries to a third party on the property, even if there is an exemption clause. But such laws vary from state to state.

Every accident is unique. Many factors come into play. Questions often lead to more questions. Confused? Scared? Take action. Contact the Law Offices of Mark E. Salomone & Morelli today. When you chose us, you get experienced tenant injury lawyers who understand the law and know how to aggressively fight for your family to get the justice you deserve.

Tenant injury cases are complicated. Don’t let insurance companies or landlords push you around. Contact Salomone & Morelli. We’re on your side.